For the joy of finding something good.
SmartCard item tracking deviceFind your wallet with Apple Find My.

SIDE BY SIDE · item tracking device

SpotMinders vs SmartCard: Fit, Battery, and Return Terms

SpotMinders vs SmartCard from each seller's own page: thickness, battery life, water rating, Apple Find My, guarantee windows, and what neither page states.

We earn a commission if you buy through this link. It does not change the price you pay. Check the seller for current price, compatibility, and return conditions.

Can we recommend a winner?

No. This SpotMinders vs SmartCard comparison uses each seller's own page, read on September 12, 2026, not testing. Both are thin, card-shaped trackers that work through Apple's Find My app. Both pages carry review counts, satisfaction figures, and certification claims that we have not verified and do not repeat as fact. What the pages do show is a difference in stated thickness, battery life, water rating, and return window. SpotMinders sells several trackers; this page compares its base Tracking Card as described on the seller's home page.

Where the two sellers differ

  • Thickness: SmartCard is described as thinner than two credit cards. SpotMinders states 1.8 mm, described as the same as a credit card.
  • Battery: SmartCard states up to 5 months on a single charge. SpotMinders states up to 8 months on a full charge.
  • Charging: SpotMinders states wireless charging on a compatible charging pad. SmartCard does not state how the card is charged.
  • Water: SmartCard states it can survive up to 1 hour in 3.3 feet of water. SpotMinders states an IP67 rating, described as 30 minutes in up to 3 feet of water.
  • Guarantee: SmartCard advertises 30 days. SpotMinders advertises 100 days.
  • Warranty: SpotMinders states a lifetime warranty. SmartCard does not state a warranty.
  • Price: SpotMinders lists the Tracking Card at $39.00 and a Tracking Card Pro at $49.00. SmartCard shows no price in the page text we read; the price appears at checkout.

What the SmartCard seller says

These points come from the SmartCard offer page as read on September 12, 2026. They are the seller's statements, not our findings.

  • Maker: sold as SmartCard by KeySmart.
  • Size: described as thinner than two credit cards and ultra lightweight.
  • How it works: the card's Bluetooth signal is picked up by nearby devices within Apple's Find My app. You link the card in Find My and see it on the map.
  • Alerts: the seller says Find My notifies your iPhone, CarPlay, or AirPods if you leave the card behind.
  • Lost Mode: shows the last known location on a map and sends a message and contact details to whoever finds the card.
  • Battery: up to 5 months on a single charge.
  • Water: described as having one of the highest waterproof ratings possible, surviving up to 1 hour in 3.3 feet of water. No IP code is given.
  • Privacy: the seller describes the process as anonymous and encrypted.
  • Subscription: none required.
  • Guarantee: a 30-day money-back guarantee is advertised. Conditions are not stated.

The page also cites customer counts, star ratings, and a satisfaction percentage. We have not verified those figures and do not repeat them.

What the SpotMinders seller says

These points come from the SpotMinders home page as read on September 12, 2026.

  • Product: a Tracking Card listed at $39.00, plus a Tracking Card Pro at $49.00 and other tracker products. The statements below describe the Tracking Card unless noted.
  • Size: 1.8 mm thin, described as the same as a credit card.
  • How it works: connects to the Find My app already on an iPhone. The seller says no extra app, account, or subscription is needed. Setup is described as Find My, Items, Add Item, Other Supported Item.
  • Certification: the seller states the card is Apple MFi certified. Not verified here.
  • Finding: see it on the map, ping it to hear it, or turn on Lost Mode.
  • Battery: a full charge lasts up to 8 months, with a color-changing LED to show charge state.
  • Charging: wireless, on a compatible charging pad.
  • Water: rated IP67, described as remaining functional after 30 minutes submerged in up to 3 feet of water.
  • Compatibility: the FAQ states the card is optimized for Apple devices and the Find My app only.
  • Travel: the seller says the battery is under 1 Wh and complies with most airline standards, and advises checking your airline's policy.
  • Guarantee: a 100-day money-back guarantee is advertised.
  • Warranty: a lifetime warranty is stated, with replacement or a full refund if anything happens. Conditions are not detailed.

The page also cites a Trustpilot rating and a cards-sold figure. Neither is verified here.

What neither page states

  • Whether a used or activated card can be returned, and who pays return postage.
  • What is in the box, including whether a charger or cable is included. SpotMinders sells a wireless charger separately at $29.00; whether one ships with the card is not stated on the home page.
  • Android support. SmartCard says nothing about Android. SpotMinders says the card is for Apple devices only.
  • The checkout total with shipping and tax for your location on the day you order.
  • Bluetooth range, or how the card behaves when no Apple device is nearby.
  • How either card performs in a specific wallet, bag, or city.

Questions to settle before choosing

Your phone

Both cards depend on Apple's Find My network. If you use Android, neither seller page offers a path, and SpotMinders says so directly. Confirm you have an iPhone with Find My set up before buying either.

Charging habit

SmartCard states 5 months per charge and does not describe the charging method. SpotMinders states 8 months and wireless charging on a compatible pad. Decide whether you own a compatible pad or would need to buy one, and whether a longer gap between charges matters to you.

Water exposure

The two pages describe water resistance differently. SmartCard gives a depth and duration without an IP code. SpotMinders gives an IP code with a depth and duration. Neither describes how the card behaves after that exposure or after repeated soakings.

Purchase conditions

Compare the 30-day and 100-day windows, whether an activated card can be returned, and who pays postage. A return window is a purchase condition, not evidence that a tracker works. SpotMinders also states a lifetime warranty; SmartCard states none, which does not mean none exists.

Before choosing

Read both sellers' current pages on the same day and record the answers side by side, because prices, promotions, and product versions change. Confirm which SpotMinders product you are looking at, since the seller lists a base card and a Pro card at different prices. For our overall notes on the featured product, read the SmartCard review and the SmartCard FAQ on this site.

ALSO IN THESE GIFT LISTS

Sources and research scope

Comparison of each seller's own product page, both read on September 12, 2026. The SmartCard offer page and the SpotMinders home page were read the same day. No tracker was tested, no effectiveness or certification claim is verified, and no winner is named.

Rewritten on September 12, 2026 to replace a draft that had no SpotMinders source with dated seller statements from both sides and a list of what neither page states.

Before ordering, record the exact model, what is included, and the delivered price with shipping, any subscription or replacement costs, and return postage. Read the return conditions for opened or used items and the deadline. A return window is not a guarantee of results or a cost-free trial, and a sale percentage is not evidence of value.

KEEP DISCOVERINGBrowse every buying guideSee the guides

BEFORE YOU BUY

See the seller’s current offer, product details, and return terms before you buy. A return window is not a guarantee of results or a cost-free trial.

SmartCardCheck the seller for current price and return conditions.
Check SmartCard price